top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarriet Doody

Social History Aspect

An important factor into my design and ethos is combining social history into my project. This is very personal for me, as it is something I am fascinated by and really feel it helps narrate a design and adds more depth and interest to an item.


As a lover of vintage textiles, I soured a beautiful and very personal pocket of social history, which I would love to include in my main show. I bought it from a carboot for £3 when I was about 12, not fully appreciating it then!! It is a beautiful Pyjama case made in World War 1 out of a wedding dress. The lady must have made it for her husband who was serving in the war, it has been hand sewn and she has embroidered on her husband's military regiment on. This is a really special item, I feel it says so much about the hardships faced, yet people still tried to make the best out of a situation. Although silk fabric was quite rare during this time, a wife still used her wedding dress to make something just for her husband who was away with the war, across the other side of the world.



It is remarkable to think how far travelled this item is. I often wonder where it has been. Maybe France, Germany or Tunisia..? I'll never know but it is lovely to think it is still in perfect condition over 100 years later.

I wonder whether it belonged to one of these men from the Suffolk Regiment.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page