top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarriet Doody

Site Observations


I decided on giving my project a real site location, just to add a sense of authenticity. With the lockdown rules lifted slightly this semester I was able to visit my site location at The Trafford Centre.


I was inspired to use a shop at The Trafford Centre to create a juxtaposition affect. For instance, The Trafford Centre is renowned for using rich gold and luxury marble throughout its interior, something that was unfamiliar for many shopping centres built during the 1990s. Despite being over 25 years old with 28,500 people visiting the centre each week (Pre- covid!!), the building still has a sense of grandeur. Therefore, this created a contrast to the stereotypical preconceptions that people may have that second-hand items are dirty and fit for land-fill.


I have loved playing on the idea that the Trafford Centre is known to house luxury stores, yet Full Circle would be something different and the first and only Second-Hand shop within the whole shopping centre.

THE LUSH STORE

This is where I purpose 'Full Circle' would be. The traditional 'shop front' and symmetrical windows initially inspired me.








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page