top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarriet Doody

Shop Counter Sketches and Inspiration

In keeping with the theme of antiques, I was drawn to vintage and antique haberdashery units that had been repurposed for shop counters. I particularly liked how many added a marble top on them, as this is a natural and durable surface.




I love the contrast between the warm mahogany wood and the cool tactile marble. When designing my sample board, I wanted to ensure the vein in the marble didn't appear too cold and sterile. Therefore, managed to source a white marble with a gold vein running through it. This looks much warmer against the wood in comparison to the grey toned veining.


I love the simplicity of this design too. It is effortlessly timeless and ever so practical too! This supports the ethos of the shop really, I want to create something that sells products that will stand the test of the time, yet be useful and beautiful.


"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."

(William Morris).


My Sketches


  1. View of shop counter. I think using an L shape design is really practical. There's plenty of space to serve customers, a packaging area and lots of storage for bags and tissue paper.

2. Another idea from a different viewpoint. I think I prefer the first design, and the practical side of the L shape.


3, I love how delicate and feminine this design is. I think the rounded sides feel inviting for customers to pay for their products. However, I am not sure this would be entirely practical, as the almond shape limits the amount of space.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page